Traditional Kata of Takahashi-ha no Ryukyu Shuri-Te


The new Karate Do Student (deshi) initially is introduced to Kata by the way of Kihon – Taikyoku Kata, in which there are twenty individual Kata listed.

Passai Kata ( To penetrate a fortress)
Passai Dai – To force your way into a fortress.
Passai Sho – To secure and fight your way out of fortress.

Naihanchi Kata – Iron Horse. (Japanese name – Tekki.)
Naihanchi Shodan.
Naihanchi Nidan.
Naihanchi Sandan.

Kusanku Kata (Looking into the Sky), Introduced into Okinawa in the 18th Century.
Kusanku Dai.
Kusanku Sho.

Gekisai Dai Kata. (Attack and Destroy). Suzuki Masafumi Sensei of, the Nihon Seibukan introduced these two Kata, to our Ryu Ha.
Gekisai Dai Ichi.
Gekisai Dai Ni.

Chinto Kata. The creator of the kata was Sokon “Bushi” Matsumura (1809—1902).

Wankan Kata: The emperors crown.

There are more Kata that we train in for our senior level. We also study the Bunkai which has been handed down from previous generations.

Garry O'Connor Hanshi



[ mainpage ]



Kata Kanji image







© Takahashi-ha no Ryūkyū - Shuri-te Karate-do 2015.
All rights reserved.

[ top ]

Website designed & hosted by
Specialising in Martial Arts Websites

[ sitemap ]   [ contact us]